The M.E.L. Oakes Undergraduate Lecture Series



Professor Lawrence M. Krauss is Ambrose Swasey Professor of Physics, Professor of Astronomy, and Chair of the Physics Department at Case Western Reserve University.

Prof. Krauss is an internationally known theoretical physicist with wide research interests, including the interface between elementary particle physics and cosmology, where his studies include the early universe, the nature of dark matter, general relativity and neutrino astrophysics. He received his Ph.D. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1982, then joined the Harvard Society of Fellows. In 1985 he joined the faculty of Physics at Yale University, and moved to Case Western in 1993. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Prof. Krauss is the author of over 180 scientific publications as well as numerous popular articles on physics and astronomy. He is the author of six popular books, including the national bestseller, The Physics of Star Trek, and his most recent book, "Atom: An Odyssey from the Big Bang to Life on Earth...and Beyond". He has lectured to audiences at the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, the National Museum of Natural History, and the Museum of Natural History in New York, and served on the boards of three science and natural history museums.

Prof. Krauss is the recipient of the Gravity Research Foundation First Prize Award (1984) and the Presidential Investigator Award (1986), the American Association for the Advancement of Science Award for the Public Understanding of Science and Technology (2000), the Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize of the American Physical Society "for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the early universe, and extraordinary achievement in communicating the essence of physical science to the general public" (2001), the American Institute of Physics Andrew Gemant Award (2001) for "significant contributions to the cultural, artistic, or humanistic dimensions of physics", the American Institute of Physics Science Writing Award for his book, "Atom" (2002), an honorary D.Sc. degree from Carleton University (2003) for his scientific contributions and his efforts to improve public understanding of science, and the Oersted Medal (2003), the highest award of the American Association of Physics Teachers, for his contributions to the teaching of physics. Prof. Krauss is the only physicist to have received awards from the APS, AIP and AAPT.

The Department of Physics
The University of Texas at Austin